by A Cloakroom Assembly

  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of Movement/Time via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days

      $10 AUD or more 


Old Street 17:40


Assembled and performed by Michael Tee as A Cloakroom Assembly 2011 - 2012 with contributions by Monolith on track 1.

Mastered by Shane Fahey may 2012.

Field recordings from St.Vincents Hospital ICU, samples sourced from unknown sex call lines and audio recordings edited from Michael Foucault's lectures in the USA in the early 1980s.

More ACRA for download at including the companion pieces 'organs without bodies' and 'de-Composed'.

Front cover photography by Sian Nelson.
Back cover photography by NASA.

Design by Sentinel Media.


released May 18, 2013

Review by Bob Baker Fish (In-Press)

A Cloakroom Assembly is the solo project of Sydney-based musician Michael Tee, who was a founding member of post-punk experimental noisenicks Scattered Order and also contributed to the likes of Splendid Mess, A Volatile T Shirt, Pleasant Peasants and Ya Ya Choral, from the late-’70s onwards. His work was very much based around the label he co-founded, M Squared, which existed from 1979 to ‘84, and released a bunch of incredible small-run cassettes and vinyl releases, that are now fetching exorbitant prices on eBay.

A Cloakroom Assembly began in the late ’70s and is, in his words, “a variety of sound story projects and gentle time stands still-machines”. What does this mean exactly? Well, A Cloakroom Assembly creates a wholly immersive sonic environment. It’s this quality that it shares with Eno’s ambient work; it’s music that softly filters into the room and changes the temperature, changes the mood.

This is a new recording which features deep ambient swirls that sound like they were made on a mixture of guitar and synth, these beguiling washes of tones that are warm enough to entice the listener and strange enough to keep them engrossed. There’s a gentle nod to electronica in terms of the rhythmic work, though it never really tips over into the clean, minimal sterility of most electronic artists. Tee’s ability is to create these dreamy washes of ambience that become almost ill-defined riffs. He effortlessly moves from electronica to electronic dub, to strange amorphous soundscapes that could double as film sound design.

The key to this work is its accessibility. It’s weird as hell, and Tee employs multiple and reasonably divergent techniques, but the sounds are universally lush and welcome.


all rights reserved




Australian label specialising in electronic, experimental, noise, drone and industrial music from all over the globe.

Iceage has released music by Arthur Cantrill, Primitive Calculators, Robin Fox, Bonnie Mercer, Ollie Olsen, Ernie Althoff, Mad Nanna, Shane Fahey, Matthew Brown and Sean Baxter amongst others.
... more

contact / help


Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Movement/Time, you may also like: